fbpx 2020 Painting Technology Workshop | University of Kentucky College of Engineering

Institute of Research for Technology Development

2020 Painting Technology Workshop

October 27-29, 2020 from 12:00-4:30 PM EST

For 20 years the PTW has created a bridge between academia and industry to exchange ideas on the most pressing problems and emerging technologies in the painting technology industry. 

Join us in October for our Inaugural Virtual Conference where our topics will include:

  • Disruption and Sustainability 
  • Paint Atomization; Paint Curing; Paint Characterization & Inspection
  • Automation in Painting Technology
  • Applying Innovative Solution Across Industries (pharmaceutical, aerospace, appliances, automotive, glass, structural industries)
Register Here

Agenda: The 2020 agenda will include presentations, expert panel discussions, Poster sessions, open discusion,and the opportunity to network with others. Selected proceedings will be published in the Journal of Coatings Technology and Research.

Attendees: Attendees include professionals from academia, government, and manufacturing suppliers of paint, robotics, booths, pumps or software, and end users such as OEM automotive manufacturers.  Presenters, exhibitors and participants will include plant and product engineers, management, and faculty.

Keynote Addresses: Confirmed for the 2020 PTW Keynotes (each 45 minutes followed by Q&A, 60 minutes total) will be announced soon

Registration Fees: Registration structure for PTW2020 is built on several tiers to promote idea exchange, create a wider community painting technology interest

a. $1000 individual 
b. $3000 for 3-5 individuals
c. $5000 for 6-20 individuals
d. No fee required for presenters 

Presenting and Poster Session Information

Author Submissions: Authors are asked to submit an abstract and a title to Dr. Ahmad Salaimeh ahmad.salaimeh@uky.edu , and they are expected to deliver either presentation or a poster.  Authors will be informed of their approval to present by Dr. Salaimeh on behalf of the PTW technical organizing committee of a decision on their style by October, 1st, 2020.

Presentations and Presentation Guidelines: Each presentation lasts 20 minutes, followed by Q&A (30 minutes total).  Please contact us if you wish to present at PTW.  Please note that all presentations focus on the technical merit of painting, and not the promotion of any products or services during the presentations.

Posters Sessions Information: Posters will be exhibited in a poster session and authors are encouraged to be in those session to facilitate discussion and idea exchange. Poster sessions will be held as breakout rooms with 15 minutes allotted for them, each poster is one page. The Registration fee will be waived for poster presenters.

Publishing Proceedings: Both posters and presentations will be subject to selection to be published in a special edition in the Journal of Coating Technology and Research. Authors will be approached by November,1st with a decision to submit to the journal special edition and will be given adequate time to write a manuscript in accordance with the Journal of Coating Technology and Research Authors Guidelines.

Electronic Abstracts, Presentations, and Posters will be shared with the attendees after authors have given their consent and submitted the appropriate material to the organizers.

For more information

For Technical Information: Ahmad Salaimeh - 859-218-3639
For Registration Information: Sandra Dunn - 859-257-4886

PTW2020 Organizing Committee:

Kozo Saito (University of Kentucky, Program Director)
Ahmad Salaimeh (University of Kentucky, Technical Leader)
Scott Adams (Boeing)
Nelson Akafuah (University of Kentucky)
Scott Clifford (Fanuc)
Kevin Ellwood (Ford)
Xinyu Lu (PPG)
Ali Monazahian (Kawasaki Robotics)
Piotr Nikonczuk (West Pomeranian University of Technology, Poland)
Jim Pakkala (DURR)
Gabriela Patrick (Toyota Motor Manufacturing North America)
Martin Neito Perez (Instituto Politecnico Nacional, Mexico)
Srinivasan Chandrasekaran Rasipuram (University of Louisville)
Oliver Tiedje (Fraunhofer institute)
Jason J. Willoughby (Graco)
Sandra Dunn
Ownie McBride