Outline012301, LGH, EE499

Task 2: Search for part numbers, data sheets (front page only), distributors and price.

Parts: LEDs, Drivers (discrete and IC), Op-amps (start with a 347), Multiplexor (i.e., 4051,4052,4053 bi-directional switches) Also, find Maxim technology, Active filters (especially bandpass, see Maxim technology), Audio transducers, Audio Amplifiers (IC only), Signal Generators or Timers, Voltage Regulators, Voltage Controlled Oscillators, Sensors (Phototransistors and pin diodes)

Distributors: Jameco, Digi-Key, Maxim, Newark

Lecture

  1. Discuss general structure of communications system and how it might be used to evaluate effectiveness of UK EE curriculum.
  2. Have group representatives present their ideas on the testing method and performance measures for judging the different devices.

Outcome:

All the groups contributed the basic idea plus some unique aspect of the problem. Some of the criterion included.

Discrimination capability, Sensor Distance Criterion, Speed, Cost, Portability, Complexity, Effectiveness of human interface, Applications

The apparatus for testing the devices included

Control surfaces including colored paper. Shape variation. Ambient light conditions from sunlight, overhead light, to darkness. Dark room, Dark box to exclude outside ambient light and reduce reflection, Black box tests where the target objects were kept out of view to remove bias from the test results.

Task 1 Groups:

Group: 1

Sam, lih pin samlp@rocketmail.com

yeoh pei pei ppyeoh@yahoo.com

Chai min chin mcchai0@pop.uky.edu

Sam, lih pin samlp@rocketmail.com

Goh, Swee Yean gsyeaw@hotmail.com

Ng, Swee Siong (Maverick) rashleigh@hotmail.com

Group: 2

Bodde Peter boddep@hotmail.com (rep)

Lindemann Stephen srlindemann@hotmail.com

Stamper, Joshua joshcalc@yahoo.com

Collett, Eric Wes wcollett@yahoo.com

Group: 3 (Agent Orange)

Grimes ryan rtgrim0@pop.uky.edu

Farthing james stonedmadd@yahoo.com

Karem laura lakare0@hotmail.com

Group: 4

Farid mohamed farid88@hotmail.com

Lim lim Fong imfong2@hotmail.com

Woon, Delicia

Chiah yun hui huiy20@hotmail.com