All students are welcome and encouraged to meet with their advisor and the faculty with any questions/concerns regarding the program, the program requirements, opportunities for scholarships, undergraduate research, and future employment. Depending on the academic level and major of the Engineering student, each is assigned to an academic advisor and/or a faculty advisor, the names and email addresses of which are posted on the student’s myUK account.

FRESHMEN:

All first year students (regardless of major and earned credit hours) are advised by the Freshmen advising team.  After completing two semesters, advising responsibility is shifted to the student’s major department.

Contacts: (For your assigned advisor, look on myUK)

Director, Student Services and Freshman Advising
Jennifer R. Doerge
379 RGAN
College of Engineering
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40506-0503
859.257.1021
jennifer.doerge@uky.edu

Freshman Advisor
Diane Freeman
377 RGAN
College of Engineering
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40506-0503
859.257.1080
diane.freeman@uky.edu

Freshman Advisor
Zachary Fuqua
381 RGAN
College of Engineering
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40506-0503
859.257.9145
zachary.fuqua@uky.edu

SOPHOMORES, JUNIORS and SENIORS: 

From the sophomore year forward, advising is a collaboration between faculty and professional advisors within the major department.

Contacts: (For your assigned advisor, look on myUK)

Biosystems Engineering

Dr. Czarena Crofcheck, Ph.D.
Director of Undergraduate Studies
Biosystems Engineering
212 C.E. Barnhart Building
crofcheck@uky.edu
859.257.3000 ext 212

Chemical and Materials Engineering

Bruce Cole
Student Affairs Officer
Chemical & Materials Engineering
173 F. Paul Anderson Tower
bruce.cole@uky.edu
859.257.4956

Civil Engineering

Suzy Wampler
Student Affairs Officer
Department of Civil Engineering
161 Raymond Building
suzy.wampler@uky.edu
859.257.4858

Computer Science

Dr. Jurek Jaromczyk, Ph.D.
Department of Computer Science
102B Davis Marksbury Building
jurek@cs.uky.edu
859.257.4997

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Danielle Green-Hinkle
Student Affairs Officer
Electrical and Computer Engineering
467E F. Paul Anderson Tower
dgreenhinkle@uky.edu
859.257.8041

Mechanical Engineering

Thomas Suggs
Academic Advisor
Department of Mechanical Engineering
159 Ralph G. Anderson Building
thomas.suggs@uky.edu
859.218.0662

Amy Luchsinger
Academic Advisor
Department of Mechanical Engineering
157 Ralph G. Anderson Building
amy.luchsinger@uky.edu
859.218.0603

Mining Engineering

Lesley Brenner
Student Affairs Officer
Department of Mining Engineering
230D Mining and Mineral Resources Building
lesley.brenner@uky.edu
859.257.4596

TRANSFER and RE-ADMITTED:

The College’s Student Records Office is the starting point for transfer and re-admitted students.  Once admission has been granted, students will be directed to their major department and an advisor will be assigned at that time.

Contact: (For your assigned advisor, look on myUK)

Director of Student Records

B.J. Brandenburg
373 Ralph G. Anderson Building
College of Engineering
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY  40506-0503
859-257-7978