Faculty

Prof. Fazleena Badurdeen (joint appointment with Mechanical Engineering):Research interests in mass customization, manufacturing system design and optimization, production scheduling, sustainable manufacturing and human factors/ergonomics.
fbadurdeen@engr.uky.edu

Prof. Larry Holloway (joint appointment with Electrical Engineering): Research on automatic generation of control and fault monitoring software for automated manufacturing systems. These methods rely on analysis of discrete state models in order to convert high-level control specifications into executable control programs.
holloway@engr.uky.edu

Prof. I. S. Jawahir (joint appointment with Mechanical Engineering): Research in metal cutting mechanics, sustainable product design and manufacturing, modeling and optimization of machining operations, cutting tool design, and performance evaluation (i.e. cutting force, chip control, tool-wear/tool-life, surface finish/integrity and part accuracy machining).
jawahir@engr.uky.edu

Prof. Doug Kalika (joint appointment with Chemical and Materials Engineering): Research in the area of polymer processing, including polymer blends and nanocomposites; investigation of structure, morphology, and polymer chain dynamics as a function of material processing history. Current focus on the formulation of polymer networks and nanocomposites for use as gas separation membranes.
kalika@engr.uky.edu

Prof. Marwan Khraisheh (joint appointment with Mechanical Engineering): Research interest in advanced metal forming and material processing, friction stir processing, microforming, superplastic forming, constitutive modeling and multiaxial testing of advanced materials, and dynamics of machining.
khraisheh@engr.uky.edu

Prof. Dusan P. Sekulic (joint appointment with Mechanical Engineering) Research on modeling of materials processing in manufacturing: metal bonding (brazing, and soldering) . Transparent phenomena and design for manufacturing of heat exchangers. Sustainable manufacturing (in particular energy issues).
sekulic@engr.uky.edu

Prof. Yu-Ming Zhang (joint appointment with Electrical Engineering): Research on automatic, adaptive, and intelligent control of manufacturing processes, particularly applied to welding.
ymzhang@engr.uky.edu

Prof. Bruce Walcott (joint appointment with Electrical Engineering): Research on nonlinear, uncertain, flexible, and variable structure systems; intelligent identification and control via neural networks FLC; genetic algorithms, and active vibration control.
walcott@engr.uky.edu

Additional faculty members who participate in and support this program are

Chemical and Materials Engineering
Prof. Eric A. Grulke: Polymerization and downstream polymer processing. Polymer-based nano composites. Adsorbent carbons.
egrulke@engr.uky.edu


Electrical Engineering
Prof. Janet Lumpp: Research on electronic materials, electronic packaging, laser processing, and sensors. Projects emphasize relationships between processing and properties.
jklumpp@engr.uky.edu


Mechanical Engineering
Prof. O.W. Dillon: Research in finite element modeling of metal cutting mechanics, especially thermal effects and residual stresses, plasticity, strain gradient effects in plasticity, sustainable product design and manufacturing, metal fatigue and other life-cycle issues, mechanics-materials science interactions.
vzn05xpm@verison.net

Prof. Keith Rouch: Research on dynamics of machine tool systems, control of chatter in machining systems, and application of finite element methods in design and manufacturing.
rouch@engr.uky.edu

Prof. Kozo Saito: Computational and experimental studies on painting technology, including transfer efficiency of paint spray, deposition process in manufacturing, and the design of automobile paint booth systems. Also research on cultural aspects of lean manufacturing.
saito@engr.uky.edu

Prof. Scott Stephens: Research on fabrication of micro-electrical-mechanical systems (MEMS). Also research on high-speed machining spindle design using magnetic bearings.
stephens@engr.uky.edu

 

Gatton College of Business and Economics
Prof. Daniel Brass:
dbrass@uky.edu

Prof. Thomas Goldsby: Research interests focus on logistics customer service, supply chain integration, and the theory and practice of lean and agile supply chain strategies
tjgold00@email.uky.edu