Fall 2015 Class Notes

Ratterman Becomes UK Alumni Association President

rattermanAfter serving as president-elect of the University of Kentucky Alumni Association for the 2014-2015 fiscal year, David B. Ratterman of Louisville, Ky., assumed his new duties as president on July 1.

Ratterman has been involved with student recruitment, special events, diversity activities and the Greater Louisville UK Alumni Club. He has also been a member of the UK Advocacy Network since the group’s inception. Ratterman is a member at Stites and Harbison PLLC in Louisville and is a Fellow of the American Bar Foundation, a Fellow of the American College of Construction Lawyers and is listed in “Kentucky Super Lawyers” and “The Best Lawyers in America.” Ratterman serves on a variety of professional committees and organizations, including as secretary and general counsel to the American Institute of Steel Construction. He is also a retired U.S. Navy commander.

Ratterman received a bachelor’s degree from UK in mechanical engineering in 1968.

Class Notes

Shelby Clark, BSEE 1960, retired after a 45-year career, working at the Martin Company in Orlando, Fla., as a missile systems engineer designing missile autopilot-control-systems, at Bell Labs in New Jersey, General Dynamics in California, at ARINC in Maryland and finally as a consultant at NAVAIR in Washington, DC.

Wood McGraw, BSCE 1964, MSCE 1966, completed 46 years as an engineer with the US Army Corps of Engineers and the Department of Housing and Urban Development. He has designed dams, sanitation systems, site developments and analyzed multifamily apartment projects. Prior to working for the US government he worked for the Kentucky Highway Dept.at the Division of Materials specializing in highway fill stabilization.

In Memoriam

Charles Arvin, 40, staff member in the college’s Institute for Sustainable Manufacturing, died following a motorcycle accident on June 17, 2015. He received a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering in 1998 and a master’s degree in manufacturing systems in 2006.
Roger Eichhorn, 84, passed away May 4, 2015 in Houston, Texas. Eichhorn served as mechanical engineering professor and chair before becoming dean of the UK College of Engineering from 1975-1982.
Ira “Joe” Ross, 82, passed away August 22, 2015. He retired in 1994 after teaching agricultural engineering for over 30 years and serving as department chair.

Larry E. Whaley, BSCE 1968, is president and CEO of Cardno Haynes Whaley in Houston, Texas. He was named a Fellow in the American Society of Civil Engineers.

Michael L. Munday, BSCE 1974, is an engineer with Summit Engineering Inc. in the company’s civil engineering group in Henderson, Ky.

William T. Simpson, BSCHE 1976, is director of operations at Zeon Chemicals LP in the company’s Louisville office.

David Garner, BSCHE 1982, senior vice president, operations for Brenntag North America, Inc. received The Chlorine Institute’s 2015 Peter M. Mayo Award. The award recognizes an individual for service and safety leadership in the chlorine industry through participation in The Chlorine Institute.

Paul F. Boulos, BSCE 1985, MSCE 1986, PhD CE 1989, has been appointed to the advisory group for the Center for Engineering, Ethics and Society (CEES) at the National Academy of Engineering. He serves as president, COO and chief technical officer at Innovyze, a leading global innovator of business analytics software and technologies for smart wet infrastructure.

Casey Krawiec, BSME 1986, is director of sales and marketing at Quik-Pak, a hi-tech firm in San Diego. He recently summited Mount Whitney, the highest peak in the lower 48 states, at 14,505 feet. He lives in La Jolla, Calif.

Steve Waddle, BSCE 1987, MSCE 1990, recently retired as the Kentucky State Highway Engineer. He was awarded the 2015 Alfred E. Johnson Achievement Award by the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials.

Kenneth Pearson, BSEE 1989, is the PMO director at Tolteq, LLC, a company specializing in the field of Measurement While Drilling. He lives in Liberty Hill, Texas.

Harlen D. Wheatley, BSCHE 1994, is the master distiller at Buffalo Trace Distillery in Frankfort, Ky.

Rachel Mills, BSCE 1999, a 16-year employee of the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet, has been appointed director of the Division of Construction Procurement. She lives in Lawrenceburg, Ky.

John A. Barber, BSCE 2001, is a project manager with the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet in Frankfort, Ky. He is the assistant state highway engineer/project manager for the Louisville-Southern Indiana Ohio River Bridges project.

Wendy Harper, MSCE 2003, has rejoined the Lexington, Ky., office of Parsons Brinckerhoff as a supervising engineer. She will supervise engineering teams working on bridge design and rehabilitation projects in the Lexington area.

Daniel Anderson, BSME 2006, is manager of continuous improvement at Open Universities Australia.

Eric Ringer, BSME 2010, is co-founder and strategic projects engineer at Skyward, the first information management solution designed for commercial drone operators. He lives in Portland, Ore.

Michael Delfino, BSCS 2011, was among only 34 high school mathematics and science teachers in the U.S. named to the 2015 cohort of Knowles Science Teaching Foundation (KSF) teaching fellows. Previously a firmware engineer at Lexmark, he teaches at the STEAM Academy in Lexington.

Brent White, BSME 2011, is a category supply planner at Procter & Gamble in Cincinnati, Ohio.

Andrew Goderwis, BSMNG 2012, is a project engineer at Modern Ice Equipment & Supply.

Limin Zhou PhD ME 2013, received the 2015 Homer Addams Award from ASHRAE. This is the top research award given to a graduate student by ASHRAE.