Class Notes

Arloe W. Mayne, BSME 1963, MSME 1964, was honored by the Greater Huntsville Section of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics for his 50-plus years of service during an Emeritus Ceremony on August 26, 2016. Dr. Mayne had a distinguished career in the aerospace industry.

Robert Hans, BSCE 1970, is now a senior project manager at CT Consultants, Inc. He has over 27 years of experience and has held several leadership roles while working for the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet.

Lonnie Bellar, BSEE 1971, has been promoted to senior vice president-operations at LG&E and KU Energy. He had previously served as vice president-gas distribution. Bellar has more than 25 years of experience in the electric and natural gas utility industry.

Rickey D. James, BSCE 1971, was reappointed commissioner of the Mississippi River Commission by President Barack Obama on January 5, 2017. President Ronald Reagan appointed James as a civil engineer civilian member to the Mississippi River Commission in 1981. He was reappointed in 1991 by President H.W. Bush and in 2003 by President George W. Bush. James is managing member of A.C. Riley Company, LLC, a position he has held since 2001.

Michael Richard, BSEE 1971, has been named general manager of the Greer Commission of Public Works in Greer, S.C. He was previously general manager for the Sylacauga Utilities Board in Sylacauga, Ala.

Bob Yeager, BSCE 1974, was named chief district engineer for the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet District 6 office in Covington, Ky. Yeager began his career with the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet in 1975.

G. Michael Calebs, BSCE 1989, was named chief district engineer (CDE) for the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet District 11 office in Manchester, Ky. Previously, Calebs was the engineering branch manager for project development and preservation in the District 11 officer. Calebs has worked in District 11 since May 1989.

Mary Beth (Willis) Hudson, BSCHE 1989, was promoted to vice president of Wacker Chemie’s Polysilicon Division for the North America, Central America and Andino Norte regions. In this role, she is also site manager of Wacker’s new polysilicon manufacturing site north of Chattanooga, Tenn. She has been with Wacker for 18 years, most recently as vice president and site manager of their Calvert City, Ky., polymers facility.

Connie Lea Allen, BSCE 1990, retired from the United States Air Force Reserve in October 2016 after 30 years of commissioned service. Colonel (Ret.) Allen now devotes all her time to Salt River Engineering in Harrodsburg, Ky.

Susan M. Moore, BSME 2000, received a Research Excellence Award from the Society of Mining and Exploration for her advancement of the development and implementation of critical health and safety technologies and improvement of the nation’s capacity in ventilation and ground control. Moore joined the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health in 2006.

Brandon Delis, BSME 2001, has been hired by Dewberry, a privately held professional services rm, for its energy division. In this new role, he will work with power generation clients across the country to understand their needs and o er solutions relevant to their financial parameters. Delis is based in the rm’s Charlotte, N. C., office.

Craig Duvall, BSAE 2001, received the prestigious Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE). He is an associate professor of biomedical engineering and director of graduate recruiting in biomedical engineering at Vanderbilt University.

Lindsay Walker, BSCE 2001, MSCE 2003, has joined the national consulting firm of Kimley-Horn. Walker is involved in several Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE) initiatives, such as Strategic Planning Annual Committee Chair for the ITE Southern District, director on the Kentucky Section of ITE board and graduate of the 2016 Leadership ITE class.

Richard Svindland, MSCE 2005, was named president of California and Hawaii American Water effective March 1, 2017. Svindland has more than 25 years of experience in the water and wastewater fields, most recently serving as California American Water’s vice president of operations.

Please send Class Notes to