Scholarship donors and recipients come together to celebrate financial aid

Nov 24, 2010   //   by Webmaster   //   News  //  Comments Off

On Nov. 20 the College of Engineering hosted the annual David K. Blythe Recognition Society Luncheon. The event gives scholarship donors an opportunity to meet their recipients and interact with the quality students able to benefit from their support. Over two hundred donors, recipients and their families attended the event, held at the Embassy Suites Hotel in Lexington.

D. Ralph Young, BSEE ’53, was the speaker on behalf of scholarship donors. He created the D. Ralph and Janice Young Engineering Scholarship in 2009. The student speaker was Neil Bradford Horsley, a freshman from Lexington majoring in chemical engineering. Horsley is the recipient this year of the Robert B. and Helen P. Jewell Foundation Scholarship, established in 1986 by Robert B. and Helen P. Jewell.

We wish to thank the many donors and students who joined us for this special event. The David K. Blythe Recognition Society was established in 2005 to express the College of Engineering’s appreciation to its many alumni and friends who so generously support undergraduate scholarships. Dean Blythe was chosen as the namesake for this society because of his passion for undergraduate education and students. He was known for his advocacy for students, assisting them with everything from finances to resume writing. He was a founder of the Engineering Alumni Association and worked tirelessly for the College for over 40 years.

Comments are closed.