Laboratory Safety

Lab safety, whether as part of a class or for independent research, is our highest priority. All personnel are required to complete safety training as appropriate for the lab in which they will learn/work.  Employees may not enter any laboratory until all required safety training is completed. This is true for faculty, staff, post-doctoral scholars, visiting researchers, graduate and undergraduate students, and high school students working with a faculty mentor.

Report any unsafe or dangerous behavior in the laboratory to the responsible faculty member, the department safety officer, Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies, or UK Environmental Health and Safety (859)257-3827.

Engineering Safety Officers

Name Department Office Address Office Phone Email Address
Joyce Evans Biomedical Engineering 514G RMB 2572685 jevans1@uky.edu
Nancy Miller Chemical and materials Engineering 059C FPAT 2575127 nancy.miller@uky.edu
Nick Cprek Chemical and Materials Engineering 061 FPAT 257-2917 nick.cprek@uky.edu
Rong Chen Center for Aluminum Technology 1505 Bull Lea Rd 514-5989 Ext 109 rong.chen@uky.edu
Brian Wajdyk Center for Nanoscale Science and Engineering 372 ASTeCC 218-6548 brian.wajdyk@uky.edu
Robert (Bob) Day Civil Engineering 264 OHR 257-8036 robert.dav2@uky.edu
Clark Graves Kentucky Transportation Center 176 OHR 257-7388 clark.graves@uky.edu
Yongwook Song Computer Science/Vision Center 204F2 DMB 257-1257 Ext 82249 yongwook.song@uky.edu
Richard Anderson Electrical and Computer Engineering 558 FPAT 257-8396 richard.anderson@uky.edu
John May Environmental Research and Training Lab C340 OHR 257-1123 john.may@uky.edu
Dali Qian Electron Microscope Center A004 ASTeCC 218-6511 mailto:dali.qian@uky.edu
Herb Mefford Mechanical Engineering/IR4TD/ISM 006 RGAN 218-0757 hbmeff2@uky.edu
Joshua Calnan Mining Engineering  131 MMRB  257-8032  joshcalnan@uky.edu